Equality Act 2010

Equality Act 2010

Actual Equality Act Law 2010 Legislation Document

There are several different laws to protect people from discrimination on grounds of these protected characteristics: 

The protected characteristics:

  • disability (or because of something connected with their disability)
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation (whether being lesbian, gay, bisexual or heterosexual) 
  • age (this applies only at work or if someone is being trained for work).

The Equality Act 2010 simplifies the current laws and puts them all together in one piece of legislation. Also, it makes the law stronger in some areas. So depending on your circumstances, the new Act may protect you more.
Most of the Equality Act came into force on 1st October 2010.
It brings together over 116 separate pieces of legislation into one single Act. Combined, they make up a new Act that provides a legal framework to protect the rights of individuals and advance equality of opportunity for all.

The Act simplifies, strengthens and harmonises the current legislation to provide Britain with a new discrimination law which protects individuals from unfair treatment and promotes a fair and more equal society.

The nine main pieces of legislation that have merged are:

  • the Equal Pay Act 1970
  • the Sex Discrimination Act 1975
  • the Race Relations Act 1976
  • the Disability Discrimination Act 1995
  • the Employment Equality (Religion or Belief) Regulations 2003
  • the Employment Equality (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2003
  • the Employment Equality (Age) Regulations 2006
  • the Equality Act 2006, Part 2
  • the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007

source: https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/equality-act-2010/what-equality-act

This Guide provides useful information about the Equality Act, click here

Comments are closed.